Professional Development Team

Research and data supports the notion that the experts in creating professional development topics for principals are, in fact, other principals. Many of us have seen an emergence of teacher leadership in our buildings based on teachers helping create professional development activities for their colleagues. The very same ideas support principals leading principals as a strategy to share best practice and innovative ideas.

MASSP has moved from a professional development coordinator model to a professional development team strategy. The team is currently composed of board members and principals nominated by division presidents. All eight divisions of MASSP are represented and the Professional Development Team will meet at regular intervals throughout the year to guide projects, topics and opportunities.

Capitol

Elizabeth Block
Principal

Cottage Grove Middle School
9775 Indian Boulevard
Cottage Grove, MN 55016

651-768-6802
eblock@sowashco.k12.mn.us

Central

John Hayden
Assistant Principal

Buffalo Community Middle School
1300 Highway 25 North
Buffalo, MN 55313

763-682-8204
jhayden@bhmschools.org

Central

Sandra Logrono
Assistant Principal

Sauk Rapids High School
1835 Osauka Road NE
Sauk Rapids, MN 56379

320-253-4700
sandy.logrono@isd47.org

Hennepin

Greg Blodgett
Principal

Roosevelt Middle School
650 125th Avenue NE
Blaine, MN 55434

763-506-5801
greg.blodgett@ahschools.us

Northeast

Thomas R. Brenner
Principal

Cloquet Middle School
509 Carlton Avenue
Cloquet, MN 55720

218-879-3328
tbenner@isd94.org

Northern

Becky Carlson
Principal

Goodridge High School
201 Osmund Avenue
Goodridge, MN 56725

218-378-4134
becky.carlson@goodridgeisd561.org

Southeast

Mary Morem
Principal

Caledonia Area Middle School/High School
825 North Warrior Avenue
Caledonia, MN 55921

507-725-3316
mary_morem@cps.k12.mn.us

Southwest

Robert Slaba, Jr.
Principal

Canby High School
307 First Street West
Canby, MN 56220

507-223-2002
robert.slaba@canbylancers.org

Western

Ryan Johnson
Assistant Principal

Fergus Falls IQ Academy
601 East Randolph Avenue
Fergus Falls, MN 56537

218-998-0544
rjohnson@iqmn.org

Minneapolis Principals

Emily Palmer
Principal

Sanford Middle School
3524 42nd Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55406

612-668-4901
Emily.Palmer@mpls.k12.mn.us

Saint Paul Principals

Micheal Thompson
Principal

Johnson High School
1349 Arcade Street
St. Paul, MN 55106

651-293-8890
micheal.thompson@spps.org