Star of Innovation Award

This award is sponsored by Horace Mann and is designed to recognize MASSP member schools statewide for the development and support of an exemplary and innovative education program in their school based upon the following criteria:

  • Applicant must be a member of MASSP
  • The degree to which the program demonstrates a positive impact on education and the advocacy of children
  • Clear principal leadership in the development and/or implementation of this innovative program
  • Creativity and imagination while bringing about positive school change
  • How easily this program can be replicated at other schools

So, what do we win?

  • For schools winning the GOLD STAR award, a representative from MASSP will arrange to appear at either a school gathering or a school board meeting to honor your accomplishment.
  • MASSP will provide a $250 award to GOLD STAR winning schools to be used at the principal’s discretion with his/her staff.
  • Honorees will be recognized at our Summer Conference.
  • Award winning programs will be highlighted.

What is the deadline?

All applications must be turned in directly to the MASSP office by 4:00 PM on March 1.

Minnesota Association of Secondary School Principals
1667 Snelling Avenue North, Suite C-100
St. Paul, Minnesota 55108

What is the nomination process?

School principals may nominate their own school or a neighboring school. A panel of acting principals will decide this year’s winners.

How do I get started?

Click here for a Star of Innovation application.

Following are the 2015-2016 Star of Innovation Award Winners


Chanhassen High School

Tim Dorway, Principal
Flexible Personalized Learning: The Loft at Chanhassen High School

Johnson High School

Micheal Thompson, Principal
Student Leadership Program

North Branch Area Middle School

Todd Tetzlaff, Principal
“We are RED”: Respectful, Enthusiastic and Determined

Redwood Valley High School

Richard Jorgenson, Principal
Privilege Based Attendance Policy


Becker High School

Mark Kolbinger, Assistant Principal
Integrated Wellness Center

Buffalo High School

Mark Mischke, Principal
Office Staff Professional Develop

Detroit Lakes High School

Darren Wolf – Principal
Justin Messer – Assistant Principal

John F. Kennedy High School

Andrew Beaton, Principal

Longfellow Alternative High School

Padmini Udupa, Principal
D3/Destination: Diploma to Degree

North High School

Greg Nelson, Principal
Polar Portraits

Park High School

Kerry Timmerman, Principal
Wolfpack Hour

Washington Technology Magnet School

Mike McCollor, Principal
Washington Genius Squad


Anoka-Hennepin Technical High School

Nancy Chave, Principal
Anoka-Hennepin Technical High School

Becker Middle School

Nancy Helmer Weiss, Principal
Interdisciplinary Project-STEAM

Bemidji High School

Brian Stefanich, Principal
Lumberjack Career Academies

Canby High School

Robert Slaba Jr., Principal

Cedar Mountain Secondary

Jeremy Schultz, Principal
Practice to Implement PLC

Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley School

Larry Mischke, Principal
Common Resource Time (CRT)

Cook County Middle School

Adam Nelson, Principal
Extra Learning Time (ELT)

Dassel-Cokato High School and ALC

Dean Jennissen – Principal, Jon Nelson – ALC Director
ALC 2.0 Alternatives for All

Hermantown High School

John Muenich, Principal
Technology Integration: Classroom Set Model

Hutchinson High School

Patrick Walsh, Principal
Spooky Sprint

Lyle Public School

Melanie Jiskra, Principal
Marzano Coaching for Implementation

Mounds View High School

Jeffery Ridlehoover, Principal
The Media Center 2.0 – The Information & Learning Center

New London-Spicer Middle School

Trish Perry, Principal
Girls United

Olson Middle School

Steve Emerson, Principal
Culturally Responsive Teaching and Learning for Academic Brilliance

Robbinsdale Cooper High School

Frank Herman, Principal
Cooper Cares

Rosemount Middle School

Mary Thompson, Principal
Literacy Collaborative

Sibley East Junior High School

Steve Harter, Principal
Peer Tutor Program

Simley High School

Gerald Sakala, Principal
Academic Enhancement

Two Harbors High School

Jay Belcastro, Principal
BARR (Building Assets Reducing Risk)

Horace-Mann-Vert-LogoMASSP also thanks Horace Mann for their partnership and promotion of the Star of Innovation Award.